Take a walk around the old Eastern Wing of our hospital’s campus, home to various ancillary buildings constructed after WWII.
Buildings Of Our Past
〰️
Buildings Of Our Past 〰️
Block 9
Block 9 was constructed in 1948, and would later be home to Singapore’s first self-dependency dialysis centre, opened by President Benjamin Sheares on 6 September 1975. This was in partnership with the National Kidney Foundation, founded 6 years before by Prof. Khoo Oon Teik, who also graced the occasion.
The Pharmacy Store
Check out what’s (literally) in store at what was the main storage space for the Pharmacy!
This block was later used as the hospital’s Security Office, and also catered to the storage needs of the Pharmacy, largely reverting back to its original function; it started off as quartermaster’s stores during its days under the British military administration.
Be Sure To Explore The Following:
Burmese Rosewood Tree
(Code-named T0337)
One of many Burmese Rosewood trees around the Eastern wing of the campus.
See how many you can spot in this virtual tour!